Difficult Moments

As an earthquake survivor it has been hard for me to read the news this week. In so many ways I was lucky – I survived, and I got out after twenty-four hours. But even though my trauma is so much less than what anyone in Nepal is going through this week, my mind creeps to the limit of memory remembering the destruction and fear in Ica eight years ago, and then it shuts down as if to protect me from it.

The pictures we are seeing on the news are horrific, but the reality is much worse. I know that, because it was the same for the Peru earthquake.

My heart goes out to everyone in the disaster affected area.

Type your thoughts here! :-)

