To Complain or Not to Complain… that’s hardly the question

Because I’m a survivor (see previous posts) I try hard not to complain about things. It is a struggle since I’m a natural pessimist, but I know that I need to be grateful for where I live and all of the things that I have. I remind myself that there are still people living in tents because of a natural – or man made – disaster; innocent people caught up in conflicts; many other awful things happening.

So I post this not just for myself and my friend, two mothers who United Airlines involuntarily bumped from their flight on Christmas Day, thereby separating them from their families and stranding us in Houston – but for the many people whose experiences have been much worse.

I think, for example, of the case that the taxi driver in Houston told us after we complained to him of our circumstance. Two women in their eighties arrive in Texas knowing little English. They are bumped from their flight. Unable to defend themselves, they are left with absolutely no compensation – certainly not the amount that they should get, and not even with a basic hotel room voucher. The taxi driver felt so sorry for them that he drove them to his hotel and put them up for the night at his own expense.

Yes, there is humanity left in this world. It doesn’t seem to be found in the upper management or boards of airline companies though.

So if you also have had any issue, make sure you visit flyersrights.org and sign their petition so that Congress passes the Airline Passengers Bill of Rights that has been stalled for over a decade.

 

